side menu icon


Thanks to the generosity of donors, Girl Scouts of Kansas Heartland is able to offer several scholarships. To apply, complete the 2017 College Scholarship Application.

This year’s council scholarship offerings include:

  • George and Jayne Smith Scholarships: $3,000 (up to six scholarships available) 2017 Smith Instructions
  • Gold Award Scholarship: $2,500. You must have earned the Gold Award. (If you graduated in 2016 and earned your Gold Award after the scholarship deadline, you are eligible to apply this year.)
  • Marcella Mouser Scholarship: $500. This award is for active Girl Scouts graduating high school in the Flint Hills legacy region: Osage, Coffey, Lyon, Greenwood, Chase, Morris and Marion counties.

NOTE: One transcript and two set of references are required (only one copy of the transcript and references is needed even if applying for more than one scholarship). Click here for the 2017 College Scholarship Reference Form.

All applications are due no later than 5 p.m. Jan. 29, 2018, to:

Girl Scouts of Kansas Heartland
c/o Scholarship Committee
360 Lexington Rd.
Wichita, KS 67218

Recipients of named scholarships above will be recognized through Girl Scouts of Kansas Heartland print and online materials as well as possible council events. We look forward to receiving your application. Additional questions may be directed to or 888-686-6468.

Scout of the Year Scholarships

Annually, the Veterans of Foreign Wars recognizes four individuals: Girl Scout Gold Award recipients, Eagle Scouts, Venture Silver Award recipients, and Sea Scout Quartermasters who have risen above their peers in exemplifying the exceptional qualities of that rank with the following:

  • $5,000 1st place scholarship
  • $3,000 2nd place scholarship
  • $1,000 3rd place scholarship

To be eligible for the award, the candidate must:

  1. Be a registered, active member of a Boy or Girl Scout Troop, Venturing Crew or Sea Scout Ship.
  2. Be the recipient of the Eagle Scout Award, Gold Award, Venture Silver Award or Sea Scout Quartermaster Award.
  3. Have demonstrated exemplary citizenship in school, Scouting and community.
  4. Have reached his or her 15th birthday and be enrolled in high school at the time of selection.

MUST SUBMIT APPLICATION DIRECTLY TO A VFW POST IN YOUR COMMUNITY BY MARCH 1. Click here for the application. For more details, and to find your local VFW post, click here.

Prudential Spirit of Community Award

Girl Scouts, are you making a difference through volunteering? If so, Prudential Financial and the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) wants to recognize you! You could win $1,000 and a trip to Washington, D.C. in May. The application deadline is Nov. 7, 2017. Girl Scouts can apply online and get the latest details by going to  

All state-level honorees will receive special recognition — the top high school and middle school volunteers will receive silver medallions, $1,000 awards, and an all-expense paid trip to the nation’s capital for several days of national recognition events. The top 10 youth volunteers will be announced in a special ceremony in Washington, D.C., and each will receive a gold medallion, crystal trophy, and a $5,000 grant from the Prudential Foundation for a charitable nonprofit of his or her choice.

KPMG Future Leaders Scholarship

KPMG is deeply committed to the advancement, development and empowerment of women. As women break glass ceilings in the workplace and excel on the international athletic stage, the influence of women will only continue to grow and affect our society for the better. In partnership with Dr. Condoleezza Rice, the program provides leadership training to top high school female students from around the country preparing for their college career. Students selected will:

  • Receive a KPMG Future Leaders Scholarship of $10,000 per year for four years of college.
  • Attend a three-day KPMG Future Leaders Retreat the summer before their freshman year of college, at Stanford University (July 17-19, 2017).
  • Actively participate in a one-year KPMG Future Leaders Mentoring Program.

Application deadline is Jan. 30, 2017. Complete the application and return to the Office of Condoleezza Rice at Stanford University.